News & Press: All

HospitalityMaine's 2020 award winners announced ​

Tuesday, February 18, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kathleen Pierce
Share |

HospitalityMaine's 2020 award winners announced  


AUGUSTA, Maine — A new slate of hospitality leaders will be honored at the HospitalityMaine Awards Gala March 31 at the Doubletree Hotel in South Portland.


Every year the state’s nonprofit trade group, which represents hotels and restaurants, salutes career professionals who exemplify hospitality in action. “Our 2020 honorees are a distinct breed with backgrounds as diverse as their properties, from Ogunquit to Bar Harbor,” association President Steve Hewins said.  “Leading by example, they attract others to follow or create their own hospitality path. We salute their dedication.”


The 2020 award winners are:  


Chef of the Year: Louis Kiefer Jr, executive chef at the Bar Harbor Inn. 


Restaurateurs of the Year: Michelle and Steve Corry, co-owners of Five Fifty Five and Petite Jacqueline in Portland.


Innkeepers of the Year: Buzz Makarewicz and Mark Osborn, co-owners of Topside Inn in Boothbay Harbor.


Rising Star: Scott Vogel, owner of The Front Porch in Ogunquit. 


Lifetime achievement: Judy Hemmingsen, innkeeper of the Bluenose Motel, Rose Garden Restaurant, Belfast Bay Inn and Ullikana Cottage Inn, passed away in September.


"These chefs, restaurateurs and hoteliers anticipate, adapt and respond to the changing appetites and expectations of today's guest," said Hewins. 

Their lively stories will be told in cinematic detail at the gala when they receive their trophies, Oscar-style, in front of peers.