News & Press: All

Hospitality award winners shine at gala

Wednesday, May 22, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kathleen Pierce
Share |
Portland, MAINE — On May 21, Maine's hospitality industry was touted at a new ceremony held at Thompson's Point. HospitalityMaine, the non-profit trade group representing hotels and restaurants in Maine, held its first gala to honor a handful of industry pros and salute the next generation. 
The HospitalityMaine Awards and Scholarship gala is a fundraiser for the association's educational foundation, which focuses on workforce development solutions.
Honored at a buffet dinner populated by peers was Chef of the Year Kerry Altiero of Cafe Miranda in Rockland, Innkeeper of the Year Gerard Kiladjian, general manager of the Portland Harbor Hotel and Inn at Diamond Cove, Restaurateurs of the Year Justin and Danielle Walker, of Walkers Maine and Rising Star Rob Labelle, director of marketing for the Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport.
Scholarships were bestowed on five young women pursuing hospitality careers: Taylor Feehan, University of Southern Maine; Alexandra Clark, Thomas College; Barbara Haskell, Husson University; Amanda Hawkes, Southern Maine Community College and Abigail Brown, Eastern Maine Community College.
Caption: HospitalityMaine award winners from left to right: Rob Labelle, Kerry Altiero, Danielle and Justin Walker, Gerard Kiladjian and HospitalityMaine's CEO Steve Hewins